Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
Nuveen Credit Strategies Income Fund
Sponsor: Nuveen · Inception Jun 26, 2003 · Pays monthly
Market priceShare price
$4.51
+0.88% (+$0.04)
NAVAsset value per share
$5.24
as of Oct 13, 2026 · Nasdaq NAV symbol
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
13.93% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
13.17%
regular, annualised · on NAV 11.34%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
4.45%
fee table, Jul 31, 2026
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:45 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

In plain terms — Nuveen Credit Strategies Income Fund

Shares currently cost about 13.9% less than the value of the assets behind them (a discount).

Over the past year it has averaged a 10.2% discount, so today's level is somewhat wide for this fund (Z-score -1.9). That describes the past; it does not predict where the discount goes next.

It pays regular distributions worth about 13.2% a year of the share price (11.3% of the assets). That is a payout rate, not a return: part of it may be capital being handed back.

Because the shares trade below the value of their assets, each dollar of reinvested distributions buys about $1.16 of assets — a ReinvestCapture™ rate of 15.3%, more than the payout rate itself. That is buying power, not a return.

The assets themselves grew 4.4% over the past year including distributions (NAV total return).

Annual costs are 4.45% of assets.

Guided view hides the statistical panels. Switch to Expert view in the grey bar to see them. Nothing here is advice.

Price and NAV, past year

251 trading days
Premium/discount uses the closing price and NAV observed on the same date. Negative = discount.

Snapshot

Previous close
$4.47
Day range
$4.49–$4.54
52-week range
$4.49–$5.18
VolumeVolume
728,365
latest session
Avg $ volumeDaily trading ($)
$3.2M
3-month daily average
Bid / ask
Not licensed
spread not displayed
Market capMarket value
$667M
price × 148M common shares
Common net assetsFund size
$1.2B
Jul 31, 2026 · calculated from N-PORT
Total managed assetsAssets incl. borrowing
Not reported
requires reported leverage
StructureStructure
Closed-end fund
Perpetual
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
15.30%
$1 reinvested buys $1.16 of NAV
Distribution frequencyPays
Monthly
last $0.0495 ex Oct 15, 2026
HoldingsNumber of holdings
494
N-PORT Jul 31, 2026

Valuation vs. history

WindowAverage prem/discStd. dev.Z-scoreObservations
3 months-11.04%0.72%-2.4161
6 months-10.93%0.63%-2.93117
1 year-10.21%1.33%-1.94222
3 years-7.23%———
5 years-8.82%———

Current contemporaneous premium/discount -12.79% (close Oct 14, 2026 vs NAV Oct 13, 2026). 1-year range -13.26% to -6.18%. A negative Z-score means a wider discount than the window average — not that the fund is undervalued.

Series1M3MYTD1Y3Y (ann.)5Y (ann.)
Market price return-3.83%-6.03%-9.96%-12.06%-3.05%-7.26%
Market price total return-2.81%-3.05%-1.13%-0.32%+8.92%+3.43%
NAV return-1.87%-2.78%-5.76%-6.76%-3.16%-5.52%
NAV total return-0.95%-0.05%+2.50%+4.38%+7.92%+4.37%

Through Oct 14, 2026. Total return reinvests distributions at the series value on the ex-date. Cumulative ≤ 1 year, annualised beyond.

About the fund

The Nuveen Credit Strategies Income Fund, a closed-end balanced mutual fund, was established by Nuveen Investments, Inc. and is actively managed by Symphony Asset Management, LLC. This U.S.-domiciled fund, formed on June 25, 2003, and previously known as Nuveen Multi-Strategy Income & Growth Fund 2, strategically allocates capital within the fixed income and public equity markets of the United States. Its investment mandate specifically targets senior secured and second-lien loans, preferred securities, convertible securities, and other related instruments, with a primary objective to acquire investment-grade securities. Portfolio construction is grounded in a fundamental analysis approach, emphasizing bottom-up security selection. This analytical framework thoroughly considers elements such as prevailing interest rate levels, the evolving conditions and trends within both bond and equity markets, comparative valuations of preferred, convertible, and other debt instruments, alongside broader economic and market indicators like the overall economic outlook and inflation. The fund incorporates leverage into its operations and measures its performance against the Barclays Capital U.S. Aggregate Bond Index.

CEF Explorer research page for Nuveen Credit Strategies Income Fund. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.