Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
Nuveen Municipal Credit Income Fund
Sponsor: Nuveen · Inception Oct 3, 2001 · Pays monthly
Market priceShare price
$10.97
+2.88% (+$0.31)
NAVAsset value per share
$11.13
as of Oct 13, 2026 · Nasdaq NAV symbol
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
1.44% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
8.70%
regular, annualised · on NAV 8.57%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
Not reported
no tagged fee table
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:00 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

In plain terms — Nuveen Municipal Credit Income Fund

Shares currently cost about 1.4% less than the value of the assets behind them (a discount).

Over the past year it has averaged a 0.6% discount, so today's level is somewhat wide for this fund (Z-score -1.1). That describes the past; it does not predict where the discount goes next.

It pays regular distributions worth about 8.7% a year of the share price (8.6% of the assets). That is a payout rate, not a return: part of it may be capital being handed back.

Because the shares trade below the value of their assets, each dollar of reinvested distributions buys about $1.01 of assets — a ReinvestCapture™ rate of 8.8%, more than the payout rate itself. That is buying power, not a return.

The assets themselves fell 6.5% over the past year including distributions (NAV total return).

Guided view hides the statistical panels. Switch to Expert view in the grey bar to see them. Nothing here is advice.

Price and NAV, past year

251 trading days
Premium/discount uses the closing price and NAV observed on the same date. Negative = discount.

Snapshot

Previous close
$10.66
Day range
$10.79–$10.97
52-week range
$10.45–$13.02
VolumeVolume
1,285,667
latest session
Avg $ volumeDaily trading ($)
$10.5M
3-month daily average
Bid / ask
Not licensed
spread not displayed
Market capMarket value
$2.2B
price × 196M common shares
Common net assetsFund size
$4B
Jul 31, 2026 · calculated from N-PORT
Total managed assetsAssets incl. borrowing
Not reported
requires reported leverage
StructureStructure
Closed-end fund
Perpetual
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
8.82%
$1 reinvested buys $1.01 of NAV
Distribution frequencyPays
Monthly
last $0.0795 ex Oct 15, 2026
HoldingsNumber of holdings
659
N-PORT Jul 31, 2026

Valuation vs. history

WindowAverage prem/discStd. dev.Z-scoreObservations
3 months-0.71%1.00%-1.1762
6 months-0.33%0.88%-1.76118
1 year-0.63%1.18%-1.06224
3 years-6.01%———
5 years-7.35%———

Current contemporaneous premium/discount -1.89% (close Oct 14, 2026 vs NAV Oct 13, 2026). 1-year range -4.27% to +1.57%. A negative Z-score means a wider discount than the window average — not that the fund is undervalued.

Series1M3MYTD1Y3Y (ann.)5Y (ann.)
Market price return-6.61%-14.96%-14.63%-14.63%+0.92%-8.37%
Market price total return-5.95%-13.27%-9.58%-7.85%+8.28%-2.52%
NAV return-5.12%-11.60%-12.15%-13.32%-3.82%-8.08%
NAV total return-4.46%-9.85%-6.96%-6.47%+2.84%-2.60%

Through Oct 14, 2026. Total return reinvests distributions at the series value on the ex-date. Cumulative ≤ 1 year, annualised beyond.

About the fund

The Nuveen Municipal Credit Income Fund (NZF) functions as a closed-end mutual fund that concentrates on fixed-income investments, established by Nuveen Investments, Inc. Its oversight is a joint effort between Nuveen Fund Advisors LLC and Nuveen Asset Management, LLC. The fund primarily allocates its capital within the fixed income markets of the United States. Its strategy involves identifying and acquiring undervalued municipal debt instruments and related investments, specifically chosen for their ability to provide income exempt from standard federal income taxes. The fund targets investment-grade securities, requiring a rating of Baa/BBB or better, and aims for an approximate average maturity of 18 years. Portfolio creation is guided by a bottom-up security selection method, supported by thorough fundamental analysis. The performance of its portfolio is evaluated against the Standard & Poor's (S&P) National Municipal Bond Index. Formerly, this fund was known as the Nuveen Enhanced Municipal Credit Opportunities Fund. It was founded in the United States on March 21, 2001.

CEF Explorer research page for Nuveen Municipal Credit Income Fund. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.