Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
Japan Smaller Capitalization Fund
Sponsor: Nomura · Inception Mar 14, 1990 · Pays monthly
Market priceShare price
$12.08
-0.20% ($-0.02)
NAVAsset value per share
$13.81
as of Feb 28, 2026 · SEC filing
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
12.53% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
9.50%
regular, annualised · on NAV 8.31%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
Not reported
no tagged fee table
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:45 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

Distribution rates

Regular rate on price
9.50%
$1.1472 annualised ÷ $12.08
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
10.86%
$1 reinvested buys $1.14 of NAV · rate × NAV ÷ price
Regular rate on NAV
8.31%
÷ NAV $13.81 (Feb 28, 2026)
TTM yield (incl. specials)
8.98%
$1.0851 paid in 12 months ÷ price
TTM yield (ex specials)
8.98%
$1.0851 regular only
SEC yield
Not reported
shown only when the fund reports it
Frequency
Monthly
latest $0.0956 · Regular (inferred)

The regular rate annualises the latest regular payment by its frequency; special distributions are never annualised. A distribution rate is not a portfolio income yield and is not a measure of performance — see composition and NAV history below.

Distribution history

42 payments on record
Most recent 60 payments, by ex-date.
DeclaredEx-dateRecordPaidAmountFrequencyTypeSource
Sep 10, 2026Dec 15, 2026Dec 15, 2026Dec 30, 2026$0.0956MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Sep 10, 2026Nov 16, 2026Nov 16, 2026Nov 30, 2026$0.0956MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Sep 10, 2026Oct 15, 2026Oct 15, 2026Oct 30, 2026$0.0956MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
May 22, 2026Sep 15, 2026Sep 15, 2026Sep 30, 2026$0.0956MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
May 22, 2026Aug 14, 2026Aug 14, 2026Aug 31, 2026$0.0956MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
May 22, 2026Jul 15, 2026Jul 15, 2026Jul 31, 2026$0.0956MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Mar 10, 2026Jun 15, 2026Jun 15, 2026Jun 30, 2026$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Mar 10, 2026May 15, 2026May 15, 2026May 29, 2026$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Mar 10, 2026Apr 15, 2026Apr 15, 2026Apr 30, 2026$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 21, 2025Mar 16, 2026Mar 16, 2026Mar 31, 2026$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 21, 2025Feb 13, 2026Feb 13, 2026Feb 27, 2026$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 21, 2025Jan 15, 2026Jan 15, 2026Jan 30, 2026$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Sep 12, 2025Dec 15, 2025Dec 15, 2025Dec 31, 2025$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Sep 12, 2025Nov 14, 2025Nov 14, 2025Nov 28, 2025$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Sep 12, 2025Oct 15, 2025Oct 15, 2025Oct 31, 2025$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 6, 2025Sep 15, 2025Sep 15, 2025Sep 30, 2025$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 6, 2025Aug 15, 2025Aug 15, 2025Aug 29, 2025$0.0887MonthlyRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 6, 2025Jul 15, 2025Jul 15, 2025Jul 31, 2025$0.0887Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 9, 2024Dec 19, 2024Dec 19, 2024Dec 27, 2024$0.3118AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 8, 2023Dec 18, 2023Dec 19, 2023Dec 27, 2023$0.2655AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 9, 2022Dec 19, 2022Dec 20, 2022Dec 28, 2022$0.0461AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 8, 2021Dec 16, 2021Dec 17, 2021Dec 28, 2021$0.6060AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 7, 2020Dec 17, 2020Dec 18, 2020Dec 28, 2020$0.3440AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 6, 2019Dec 17, 2019Dec 18, 2019Dec 27, 2019$0.8685AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 7, 2018Dec 14, 2018Dec 17, 2018Dec 27, 2018$1.4044AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 6, 2017Dec 14, 2017Dec 15, 2017Dec 21, 2017$1.8765AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 8, 2016Dec 15, 2016Dec 19, 2016Dec 23, 2016$0.9361AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 9, 2015Dec 17, 2015Dec 21, 2015Dec 28, 2015$0.8775AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 11, 2014Dec 18, 2014Dec 22, 2014Dec 29, 2014$0.1325AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 13, 2013Dec 19, 2013Dec 23, 2013Dec 30, 2013$0.1990AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 19, 2012Nov 27, 2012Nov 29, 2012Dec 6, 2012$0.0810AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 12, 2011Dec 20, 2011Dec 22, 2011Dec 29, 2011$0.0355AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 16, 2010Dec 21, 2010Dec 23, 2010Dec 30, 2010$0.0796AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 17, 2009Dec 21, 2009Dec 23, 2009Dec 29, 2009$0.0532AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 17, 2008Dec 18, 2008Dec 22, 2008Dec 29, 2008$0.1140AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 15, 2006Dec 20, 2006Dec 22, 2006Dec 29, 2006$0.8114Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 13, 2001Dec 5, 2001Dec 7, 2001Dec 14, 2001$0.0800AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 30, 2000Dec 6, 2000Dec 8, 2000Dec 15, 2000$0.8200AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
—Nov 19, 1999——$0.0070AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 10, 1998Nov 19, 1998Nov 23, 1998Dec 21, 1998$0.0050AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Nov 11, 1997Nov 20, 1997Nov 24, 1997Dec 22, 1997$0.0800AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
—Dec 10, 1991Dec 16, 1991Dec 30, 1991$0.1700MonthlySpecial (inferred)Market data vendor

“Inferred” types are assigned by our rule (off-cycle or year-end payments that deviate by more than 50% from neighbouring amounts); sponsor-confirmed classifications override them where available.

Annual totals

YearRegularSpecialTotalPayments
2026$1.1058—$1.105812
2025$0.5322—$0.53226
2024$0.0000$0.3118$0.31181
2023$0.2655—$0.26551
2022$0.0461—$0.04611
2021$0.0000$0.6060$0.60601
2020$0.3440—$0.34401
2019$0.8685—$0.86851
2018$0.0000$1.4044$1.40441
2017$0.0000$1.8765$1.87651
2016$0.9361—$0.93611
2015$0.8775—$0.87751

Increases, reductions and specials

Ex-dateEventFromToChange
Jul 15, 2026Increase$0.0887$0.0956+7.78%
Jul 15, 2025Reduction$0.2655$0.0887-66.59%
Dec 19, 2024Special distribution—$0.3118—
Dec 18, 2023Increase$0.0461$0.2655+475.92%
Dec 19, 2022Reduction$0.3440$0.0461-86.60%
Dec 16, 2021Special distribution—$0.6060—
Dec 17, 2020Reduction$0.8685$0.3440-60.39%
Dec 17, 2019Reduction$0.9361$0.8685-7.22%
Dec 14, 2018Special distribution—$1.4044—
Dec 14, 2017Special distribution—$1.8765—
Dec 15, 2016Increase$0.8775$0.9361+6.68%
Dec 17, 2015Increase$0.1325$0.8775+562.26%
Dec 18, 2014Increase$0.0810$0.1325+63.54%
Dec 19, 2013Special distribution—$0.1990—
Nov 27, 2012Increase$0.0355$0.0810+128.23%
Dec 20, 2011Reduction$0.0796$0.0355-55.40%
Dec 21, 2010Increase$0.0532$0.0796+49.62%
Dec 21, 2009Reduction$0.1140$0.0532-53.33%
Dec 18, 2008Increase$0.0800$0.1140+42.50%
Dec 20, 2006Special distribution—$0.8114—
Dec 5, 2001Increase$0.0070$0.0800+1,042.86%
Dec 6, 2000Special distribution—$0.8200—
Nov 19, 1999Increase$0.0050$0.0070+40.00%
Nov 19, 1998Reduction$0.0800$0.0050-93.75%
Dec 10, 1991Special distribution—$0.1700—

Distribution composition

Not reported here yet. Section 19(a) notices and annual tax characterisations are published by the sponsor and are not carried by our current data feeds. Use the sponsor's distribution notices (see the Documents tab and sponsor website) for the estimated and final breakdown between income, capital gains and return of capital. A return-of-capital component is not automatically destructive; judge it against NAV history over time.

Accounting classification (what the fund earned) and tax classification (what the shareholder reports) differ. A 19(a) estimate is preliminary and is superseded by the year-end tax form.

CEF Explorer research page for Japan Smaller Capitalization Fund Inc. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.