Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
John Hancock Preferred Income Fund III
Sponsor: John Hancock · Inception Jun 17, 2003 · Pays monthly
Market priceShare price
$11.69
+1.61% (+$0.19)
NAVAsset value per share
$12.56
as of Oct 13, 2026 · Nasdaq NAV symbol
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
6.93% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
11.29%
regular, annualised · on NAV 10.51%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
Not reported
no tagged fee table
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:45 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

In plain terms — John Hancock Preferred Income Fund III

Shares currently cost about 6.9% less than the value of the assets behind them (a discount).

Over the past year it has averaged a 3.1% premium, so today's level is unusually wide for this fund (Z-score -3.3). That describes the past; it does not predict where the discount goes next.

It pays regular distributions worth about 11.3% a year of the share price (10.5% of the assets). That is a payout rate, not a return: part of it may be capital being handed back.

Because the shares trade below the value of their assets, each dollar of reinvested distributions buys about $1.07 of assets — a ReinvestCapture™ rate of 12.1%, more than the payout rate itself. That is buying power, not a return.

The assets themselves fell 4.4% over the past year including distributions (NAV total return).

Guided view hides the statistical panels. Switch to Expert view in the grey bar to see them. Nothing here is advice.

Price and NAV, past year

251 trading days
Premium/discount uses the closing price and NAV observed on the same date. Negative = discount.

Snapshot

Previous close
$11.51
Day range
$11.48–$11.71
52-week range
$11.41–$15.54
VolumeVolume
294,397
latest session
Avg $ volumeDaily trading ($)
$1.3M
3-month daily average
Bid / ask
Not licensed
spread not displayed
Market capMarket value
$375M
price × 32.1M common shares
Common net assetsFund size
$705M
Jul 31, 2026 · calculated from N-PORT
Total managed assetsAssets incl. borrowing
Not reported
requires reported leverage
StructureStructure
Closed-end fund
Perpetual
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
12.13%
$1 reinvested buys $1.07 of NAV
Distribution frequencyPays
Monthly
last $0.1100 ex Oct 13, 2026
HoldingsNumber of holdings
181
N-PORT Jul 31, 2026

Valuation vs. history

WindowAverage prem/discStd. dev.Z-scoreObservations
3 months+1.29%4.72%-1.7455
6 months+2.99%3.82%-2.60108
1 year+3.14%3.01%-3.34206
3 years+4.49%———
5 years+4.28%———

Current contemporaneous premium/discount -6.93% (close Oct 14, 2026 vs NAV Oct 13, 2026). 1-year range -7.47% to +7.27%. A negative Z-score means a wider discount than the window average — not that the fund is undervalued.

Series1M3MYTD1Y3Y (ann.)5Y (ann.)
Market price return-11.12%-19.96%-20.12%-24.77%-2.48%-9.87%
Market price total return-10.28%-17.90%-13.61%-17.42%+6.69%-1.58%
NAV return-3.83%-7.71%-11.86%-13.08%+0.43%-7.20%
NAV total return-2.99%-5.35%-4.50%-4.36%+10.28%+1.72%

Through Oct 14, 2026. Total return reinvests distributions at the series value on the ex-date. Cumulative ≤ 1 year, annualised beyond.

About the fund

The John Hancock Preferred Income Fund III (HPS) functions as a closed-end investment vehicle, primarily focused on fixed-income securities. Its overall management falls under John Hancock Investment Management LLC, with additional co-management provided by John Hancock Asset Management. The fund strategically allocates capital within the United States' fixed-income markets, aiming to acquire debt instruments from companies operating across a diverse array of sectors. A significant portion of its portfolio is dedicated to preferred securities and other fixed-income instruments that possess an investment-grade credit rating or higher from either Moody's or Standard & Poor's. To assess its performance, the fund measures itself against both the Bank of America Merrill Lynch Hybrid Preferred Securities Index and the Barclays U.S. Aggregate Bond Index. This U.S.-domiciled fund was originally established on June 19, 2003.

CEF Explorer research page for John Hancock Preferred Income Fund III. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.