Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
Morgan Stanley India Investment Fund
Sponsor: Morgan Stanley · Inception Feb 18, 1994 · Pays annual
Market priceShare price
$21.82
+2.25% (+$0.48)
NAVAsset value per share
$24.56
as of Oct 13, 2026 · Nasdaq NAV symbol
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
11.16% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
9.10%
regular, annualised · on NAV 8.08%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
Not reported
no tagged fee table
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:45 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

Distribution rates

Regular rate on price
9.10%
$1.9852 annualised ÷ $21.82
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
10.24%
$1 reinvested buys $1.13 of NAV · rate × NAV ÷ price
Regular rate on NAV
8.08%
÷ NAV $24.56 (Oct 13, 2026)
TTM yield (incl. specials)
9.10%
$1.9852 paid in 12 months ÷ price
TTM yield (ex specials)
9.10%
$1.9852 regular only
SEC yield
Not reported
shown only when the fund reports it
Frequency
Annual
latest $1.9852 · Regular (inferred)

The regular rate annualises the latest regular payment by its frequency; special distributions are never annualised. A distribution rate is not a portfolio income yield and is not a measure of performance — see composition and NAV history below.

Distribution history

33 payments on record
Most recent 60 payments, by ex-date.
DeclaredEx-dateRecordPaidAmountFrequencyTypeSource
Dec 9, 2025Dec 19, 2025Dec 19, 2025Jan 15, 2026$1.9852AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 3, 2024Dec 13, 2024Dec 13, 2024Jan 15, 2025$2.6969AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 5, 2023Dec 14, 2023Dec 15, 2023Jan 12, 2024$3.1358AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 6, 2022Dec 15, 2022Dec 16, 2022Jan 13, 2023$3.9832AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 7, 2021Dec 16, 2021Dec 17, 2021Jan 14, 2022$1.0010AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 8, 2020Dec 17, 2020Dec 18, 2020Jan 15, 2021$0.0040AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 10, 2019Dec 19, 2019Dec 20, 2019Jan 15, 2020$0.0279AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 11, 2018Dec 20, 2018Dec 21, 2018Jan 15, 2019$3.8247Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 19, 2018Jun 28, 2018Jun 29, 2018Jul 13, 2018$2.2714Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 12, 2017Dec 21, 2017Dec 22, 2017Jan 10, 2018$3.9655Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 20, 2017Jun 28, 2017Jun 30, 2017Jul 14, 2017$0.7274Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 13, 2016Dec 21, 2016Dec 23, 2016Jan 13, 2017$0.6940Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 20, 2016Jun 28, 2016Jun 30, 2016Jul 15, 2016$0.4494Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 8, 2015Dec 16, 2015Dec 18, 2015Jan 15, 2016$0.0406Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 20, 2011Jun 28, 2011Jun 30, 2011Jul 15, 2011$0.9938Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 13, 2010Dec 21, 2010Dec 23, 2010Jan 7, 2011$1.8743Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 12, 2008Dec 17, 2008Dec 19, 2008Jan 7, 2009$1.7756Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 20, 2008Jun 26, 2008Jun 30, 2008Jul 15, 2008$8.6189Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 14, 2007Dec 19, 2007Dec 21, 2007Jan 7, 2008$11.9029Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 19, 2007Jun 27, 2007Jun 29, 2007Jul 13, 2007$4.8040Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 15, 2006Dec 20, 2006Dec 22, 2006Jan 5, 2007$4.7433AnnualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 21, 2006Jun 28, 2006Jun 30, 2006Jul 14, 2006$0.3507Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 21, 2005Dec 23, 2005Dec 28, 2005Jan 6, 2006$3.6660Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 21, 2005Jun 28, 2005Jun 30, 2005Jul 15, 2005$0.2142Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 14, 2004Dec 21, 2004Dec 23, 2004Jan 7, 2005$0.0714Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 23, 2004Jun 28, 2004Jun 30, 2004Jul 15, 2004$0.0201Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 15, 2003Dec 22, 2003Dec 24, 2003Jan 9, 2004$0.1793Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 18, 2003Jun 26, 2003Jun 30, 2003Jul 15, 2003$0.0188—Special (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 11, 2002Jun 26, 2002Jun 28, 2002Jul 9, 2002$0.0132AnnualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 14, 2001Dec 20, 2001Dec 24, 2001Jan 11, 2002$0.1926Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor
Jun 19, 2001Jun 27, 2001Jun 29, 2001Jul 10, 2001$0.9036Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
Dec 18, 2000Dec 20, 2000Dec 22, 2000Jan 12, 2001$1.6030Semi-annualSpecial (inferred)Market data vendor
—Dec 23, 1994Dec 30, 1994Jan 10, 1995$0.1665Semi-annualRegular (inferred)Market data vendor

“Inferred” types are assigned by our rule (off-cycle or year-end payments that deviate by more than 50% from neighbouring amounts); sponsor-confirmed classifications override them where available.

Annual totals

YearRegularSpecialTotalPayments
2025$1.9852—$1.98521
2024$2.6969—$2.69691
2023$0.0000$3.1358$3.13581
2022$0.0000$3.9832$3.98321
2021$1.0010—$1.00101
2020$0.0040—$0.00401
2019$0.0279—$0.02791
2018$0.0000$6.0961$6.09612
2017$0.0000$4.6929$4.69292
2016$0.6940$0.4494$1.14342
2015$0.0000$0.0406$0.04061
2011$0.9938—$0.99381

Increases, reductions and specials

Ex-dateEventFromToChange
Dec 19, 2025Reduction$2.6969$1.9852-26.39%
Dec 13, 2024Increase$1.0010$2.6969+169.42%
Dec 14, 2023Special distribution—$3.1358—
Dec 15, 2022Special distribution—$3.9832—
Dec 16, 2021Increase$0.0040$1.0010+24,925.00%
Dec 17, 2020Reduction$0.0279$0.0040-85.67%
Dec 19, 2019Reduction$0.6940$0.0279-95.98%
Dec 20, 2018Special distribution—$3.8247—
Jun 28, 2018Special distribution—$2.2714—
Dec 21, 2017Special distribution—$3.9655—
Jun 28, 2017Special distribution—$0.7274—
Dec 21, 2016Reduction$0.9938$0.6940-30.17%
Jun 28, 2016Special distribution—$0.4494—
Dec 16, 2015Special distribution—$0.0406—
Jun 28, 2011Reduction$1.8743$0.9938-46.98%
Dec 21, 2010Reduction$4.8040$1.8743-60.99%
Dec 17, 2008Special distribution—$1.7756—
Jun 26, 2008Special distribution—$8.6189—
Dec 19, 2007Special distribution—$11.9029—
Jun 27, 2007Increase$4.7433$4.8040+1.28%
Dec 20, 2006Increase$0.2142$4.7433+2,114.43%
Jun 28, 2006Special distribution—$0.3507—
Dec 23, 2005Special distribution—$3.6660—
Jun 28, 2005Increase$0.1926$0.2142+11.21%
Dec 21, 2004Special distribution—$0.0714—
Jun 28, 2004Special distribution—$0.0201—
Dec 22, 2003Special distribution—$0.1793—
Jun 26, 2003Special distribution—$0.0188—
Jun 26, 2002Special distribution—$0.0132—
Dec 20, 2001Increase$0.1665$0.1926+15.68%
Jun 27, 2001Special distribution—$0.9036—
Dec 20, 2000Special distribution—$1.6030—

Distribution composition

Not reported here yet. Section 19(a) notices and annual tax characterisations are published by the sponsor and are not carried by our current data feeds. Use the sponsor's distribution notices (see the Documents tab and sponsor website) for the estimated and final breakdown between income, capital gains and return of capital. A return-of-capital component is not automatically destructive; judge it against NAV history over time.

Accounting classification (what the fund earned) and tax classification (what the shareholder reports) differ. A 19(a) estimate is preliminary and is superseded by the year-end tax form.

CEF Explorer research page for Morgan Stanley India Investment Fund, Inc.. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.