Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
GAMCO Natural Resources, Gold & Income Trust
Sponsor: Gabelli / GAMCO · Inception Jan 27, 2011 · Pays monthly
Market priceShare price
$8.52
+2.28% (+$0.19)
NAVAsset value per share
$8.65
as of Oct 13, 2026 · Nasdaq NAV symbol
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
1.50% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
8.45%
regular, annualised · on NAV 8.32%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
Not reported
no tagged fee table
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:45 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

In plain terms — GAMCO Natural Resources, Gold & Income Trust

Shares currently cost about 1.5% less than the value of the assets behind them (a discount).

Over the past year it has averaged a 3.3% discount, so today's level is not high for this fund (Z-score +0.6). That describes the past; it does not predict where the discount goes next.

It pays regular distributions worth about 8.5% a year of the share price (8.3% of the assets). That is a payout rate, not a return: part of it may be capital being handed back.

Because the shares trade below the value of their assets, each dollar of reinvested distributions buys about $1.02 of assets — a ReinvestCapture™ rate of 8.6%, more than the payout rate itself. That is buying power, not a return.

The assets themselves grew 20.3% over the past year including distributions (NAV total return).

Guided view hides the statistical panels. Switch to Expert view in the grey bar to see them. Nothing here is advice.

Price and NAV, past year

251 trading days
Premium/discount uses the closing price and NAV observed on the same date. Negative = discount.

Snapshot

Previous close
$8.33
Day range
$8.35–$8.53
52-week range
$6.68–$9.38
VolumeVolume
38,180
latest session
Avg $ volumeDaily trading ($)
$602K
3-month daily average
Bid / ask
Not licensed
spread not displayed
Market capMarket value
$142M
price × 16.7M common shares
Common net assetsFund size
$157M
Jun 30, 2026 · calculated from N-PORT
Total managed assetsAssets incl. borrowing
Not reported
requires reported leverage
StructureStructure
Closed-end fund
Perpetual
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
8.58%
$1 reinvested buys $1.02 of NAV
Distribution frequencyPays
Monthly
last $0.0600 ex Dec 11, 2026
HoldingsNumber of holdings
254
N-PORT Jun 30, 2026

Valuation vs. history

WindowAverage prem/discStd. dev.Z-scoreObservations
3 months+0.93%1.40%-1.0864
6 months+0.32%2.48%-0.36126
1 year-3.30%4.46%+0.61249
3 years-9.05%———
5 years-11.31%———

Current contemporaneous premium/discount -0.58% (close Oct 14, 2026 vs NAV Oct 13, 2026). 1-year range -11.99% to +5.67%. A negative Z-score means a wider discount than the window average — not that the fund is undervalued.

Series1M3MYTD1Y3Y (ann.)5Y (ann.)
Market price return-8.86%+1.71%+11.81%+17.66%+18.60%+9.42%
Market price total return-8.26%+3.83%+19.13%+28.03%+28.12%+17.78%
NAV return-2.81%+7.45%+4.72%+10.90%+13.92%+7.38%
NAV total return-2.14%+9.77%+11.48%+20.30%+22.24%+14.66%

Through Oct 14, 2026. Total return reinvests distributions at the series value on the ex-date. Cumulative ≤ 1 year, annualised beyond.

About the fund

The GAMCO Natural Resources, Gold & Income Trust (GNT) operates as a closed-end equity fund, established by GAMCO Investors, Inc. and managed by Gabelli Funds, LLC. This fund primarily seeks investment opportunities in publicly traded companies across global markets. Its core focus lies in businesses engaged within the natural resources and gold sectors. To generate income, the Trust employs a strategy of selling covered call options on the equity securities it holds. When constructing its portfolio, the fund takes into account a range of valuation criteria, including recent pricing of comparable publicly listed securities, dependable valuations for privately held companies, the application of various financial models, insights from current analyst reports, and an assessment of the issuer's income or cash flow. Should these methods not apply, the acquisition cost becomes the determining factor. The fund's investments span companies of all sizes, from small to large market capitalizations. Its investment performance is benchmarked against several indices: the CBOE S&P 500 Buy/Write Index, the Philadelphia Gold & Silver Index, the Dow Jones U.S. Basic Materials Index, and the S&P Global Agribusiness Equity Index. Formed on January 27, 2011, and based in the United States, the fund was previously identified as Gabelli Natural Resources, Gold & Income Trust.

CEF Explorer research page for GAMCO Natural Resources, Gold & Income Trust. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.