Skip to content
Last session
PDI $14.38 ▲2.86%D 3.0%DXYZ $28.88 ▼3.86%D 15.8%GOF $8.60 ▲1.44%D 13.7%VCX $25.44 ▲0.24%D 33.3%NEA $10.04 ▲2.53%D 1.8%PTY $10.82 ▲2.08%D 0.6%CLM $6.27 ▼0.61%D 1.4%NAD $10.32 ▲2.59%D 2.4%BCAT $13.14 ▼0.83%D 11.8%PDO $11.94 ▲1.88%D 2.2%JPC $6.80 ▲2.06%D 8.1%UTG $35.05 ▼1.04%D 5.0%BPRE $12.49 ▼0.48%D 46.9%NVG $10.83 ▲2.55%D 2.1%NZF $10.97 ▲2.88%D 1.4%BOT $26.18 ▼3.71%P 256.7%NMZ $9.11 ▲2.65%D 0.7%NAC $10.10 ▲2.74%D 2.1%CRF $5.93 ▼0.38%D 3.9%OXLC $8.36 ▲1.70%MQY $10.20 ▲3.01%D 7.2%RQI $11.15 ▲1.55%D 9.1%UTF $25.53 ▲0.04%D 3.3%ECAT $13.57 ▲0.63%HYT $7.74 ▲1.15%D 11.5%DNP $9.83 ▼0.25%P 6.4%NUV $8.23 ▲1.51%D 4.0%USA $5.98 ▲1.87%D 11.8%ADX $25.79 ▲0.55%D 4.1%DSL $9.78 ▲1.45%D 10.9%MHD $10.34 ▲2.47%D 9.3%TYG $38.43 ▼1.31%D 12.5%MUC $9.70 ▲1.29%D 8.6%MYI $9.78 ▲3.33%D 7.4%ASGI $19.33 ▲0.78%D 8.9%PHK $4.08 ▲1.49%D 4.2%JFR $7.32 ▲1.36%D 10.5%BSTZ $27.95 ▼0.56%EVV $8.35 ▲1.46%D 13.0%PCN $10.70 ▲1.90%D 1.8%
Flaherty & Crumrine Total Return Fund
Sponsor: Flaherty & Crumrine · Inception Aug 27, 2003 · Pays monthly
Market priceShare price
$15.54
+0.71% (+$0.11)
NAVAsset value per share
$17.72
as of Oct 13, 2026 · Nasdaq NAV symbol
Premium / discountPrice vs. assets
12.30% discount *
Indicative: latest price vs latest reported NAV
Distribution rate (price)Payout rate
8.24%
regular, annualised · on NAV 7.23%
Expense ratioAnnual cost
Not reported
no tagged fee table
LeverageBorrowing
Not reported
senior securities not tagged
Quote status: Market closed — last regular-session price · last trade Oct 15, 2026, 4:00 PM EDT (exchange time, ET) · retrieved Oct 15, 2026, 5:45 PM EDTRegular-session prices; extended-hours quotes are not displayed.

In plain terms — Flaherty & Crumrine Total Return Fund

Shares currently cost about 12.3% less than the value of the assets behind them (a discount).

Over the past year it has averaged a 8.9% discount, so today's level is somewhat wide for this fund (Z-score -1.6). That describes the past; it does not predict where the discount goes next.

It pays regular distributions worth about 8.2% a year of the share price (7.2% of the assets). That is a payout rate, not a return: part of it may be capital being handed back.

Because the shares trade below the value of their assets, each dollar of reinvested distributions buys about $1.14 of assets — a ReinvestCapture™ rate of 9.4%, more than the payout rate itself. That is buying power, not a return.

The assets themselves fell 0.1% over the past year including distributions (NAV total return).

Guided view hides the statistical panels. Switch to Expert view in the grey bar to see them. Nothing here is advice.

Price and NAV, past year

251 trading days
Premium/discount uses the closing price and NAV observed on the same date. Negative = discount.

Snapshot

Previous close
$15.43
Day range
$15.44–$15.58
52-week range
$15.33–$18.09
VolumeVolume
30,683
latest session
Avg $ volumeDaily trading ($)
$470K
3-month daily average
Bid / ask
Not licensed
spread not displayed
Market capMarket value
$162M
price × 10.5M common shares
Common net assetsFund size
$315M
May 29, 2026 · calculated from N-PORT
Total managed assetsAssets incl. borrowing
Not reported
requires reported leverage
StructureStructure
Closed-end fund
Perpetual
ReinvestCapture™Reinvest buying power
9.40%
$1 reinvested buys $1.14 of NAV
Distribution frequencyPays
Monthly
last $0.1067 ex Oct 23, 2026
HoldingsNumber of holdings
262
N-PORT May 29, 2026

Valuation vs. history

WindowAverage prem/discStd. dev.Z-scoreObservations
3 months-10.53%1.24%-0.6664
6 months-10.02%1.14%-1.16125
1 year-8.90%1.56%-1.57249
3 years-9.86%———
5 years-7.90%———

Current contemporaneous premium/discount -11.34% (close Oct 14, 2026 vs NAV Oct 13, 2026). 1-year range -12.95% to -5.56%. A negative Z-score means a wider discount than the window average — not that the fund is undervalued.

Series1M3MYTD1Y3Y (ann.)5Y (ann.)
Market price return-4.10%-8.75%-11.83%-13.22%+5.95%-8.38%
Market price total return-3.46%-6.96%-6.77%-6.45%+13.75%-1.47%
NAV return-2.69%-4.94%-6.54%-6.69%+4.56%-4.97%
NAV total return-2.12%-3.27%-1.69%-0.09%+11.47%+1.63%

Through Oct 14, 2026. Total return reinvests distributions at the series value on the ex-date. Cumulative ≤ 1 year, annualised beyond.

About the fund

Flaherty & Crumrine Total Return Fund Inc. is a U.S.-domiciled, closed-end balanced mutual fund overseen by Flaherty & Crumrine Incorporated. Formed on August 26, 2003, and previously operating under the name Flaherty & Crumrine/Claymore Total Return Fund, Inc., its investment strategy encompasses both public equity and fixed-income markets within the United States. The fund specifically seeks out common stocks of companies active in the utility and banking industries. A substantial portion of its holdings consists of investment-grade preferred securities, alongside a variety of other income-generating debt instruments. To evaluate its performance, the fund benchmarks against both the Barclays Capital U.S. Aggregate Index and the S&P 500 Index.

CEF Explorer research page for Flaherty & Crumrine Total Return Fund Inc. Figures carry their own dates and sources; a discount to NAV does not guarantee convergence or any return. This is not investment advice.